Writing Past the Point

The idea is just like it sounds, you run through the normal recap of what you’ve done and how you basically are feeling and then once you’ve exhausted all that you have to say, you keep writing and that is when the breakthroughs happen.

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.”

-Tony Robbins

IMG_0121
My garden, Spring 2015
Writing Past the Point is a concept that was introduced to me in counseling. As someone who journals every day this seemed like a great experiment. The idea is just like it sounds, you run through the normal recap of what you’ve done and how you basically are feeling and then once you’ve exhausted all that you have to say, you keep writing and that is when the breakthroughs happen. You take off the superficial layers of the day and really dig deeper to understand what happened inside you when you lost your temper, ate the whole cake, drank the whole bottle, yelled at your kid, acted out in some way other than what you really meant.
Why? It’s the getting to the why that is helping me navigate back to the path and understand my trigger points and how I cope or don’t cope effectively. And from this point I can plan around the trigger points with different interventions, like taking a bath, listening to a meditation, going for a long walk, listening to music, or whatever it is that helps me feel calm again. So far, for me this is working.
When I write in this stream of consciousness style without stopping I am able to stumble upon some epiphanies of sorts and realize what is at the root of my behavior with the hope of uprooting that behavior when I expose its source to fresh air and light. Yes, it’s like killing a weed, sort of. For me it’s like a dandelion because they are never really gone and once you set your mind to ridding your lawn of them, you really discover just how many there are and you see very clearly that this is going to take some work.

Author: nicholed77

Technical writer, photographer, mom

Leave a Reply

