How Do You Take Your Coffee?

The idea of adding this pure fat to coffee or tea which is delicious too, dates back to ancient monks living in caves in the Himalayas I have heard. They used yak butter and tea and I think still do in some parts of the world.

Untitled-1

I take my coffee with butter, cinnamon, stevia, and MCT oil. Thanks to Dave Asprey who originally popularized “Bulletproof Coffee” through podcasters that I listen to like Joe Rogan and Tim Ferriss I learned about this amazing jump start to the day that is as simple or complex as you want it to be for you. You can obsess over the ingredients and make it as pure and robust as hell, or you can modify to your budget and it still works.

I buy affordable coffee middle of the road, not the cheapest but not expensive. I buy grass fed butter from Aldi or Trader Joes, I ordered a big bottle of MCT oil online that last for a really long time using about a tablespoon a day. I buy cinnamon from Trader Joes for 99¢ and the stevia varies from organic from Kroger to cheap stuff at Aldi depending on my budget and time. But nonetheless, I put all this together in my Nutribullet and blend every morning pretty much without fail and I drink it while writing to start the day.

The idea of adding this pure fat to coffee or tea which is delicious too, dates back to ancient monks living in caves in the Himalayas I have heard. They used yak butter and tea and I think still do in some parts of the world. Anyways, with this energy source they could survive with no food for days. There is some science behind the MCT oil being so pure that the energy is ready for your brain very quickly without having to be processed through the body (yeah, I barely understand) but what I do understand is how great it makes me feel and how clear my brain feels at 5:30 in the morning as soon as I am enjoying it. I give the most credit to habits that work for me and ones that I have stuck with over a long period of time. Sometimes it’s a pain in the ass to make it every morning and always have the best ingredients, but it pays off and it works!

Tait Fletcher is doing it right! Click here for really, really good coffee 🙂

Author: nicholed77

Technical writer, photographer, mom

Leave a Reply

