3 Cost Effective Ways to Eat Healthy

  1. Shredded Chicken- I make shredded chicken in the crock pot or Instant Pot most weeks. It’s simple: raw chicken breast, salt, pepper and chicken broth, stock or bone broth, cooked on low for 4-6 hours. Shred and divide. Then I use that chicken to top salads or make lettuce wraps. Flavor the chicken differently to erase boredom. I do buffalo chicken, BBQ, and chicken salad. So then you have lunch for the next three days.
  2. Breakfast- I never stop at drive thrus for water, coffee or food in the morning-not because I am above it, but because I can’t afford it. Make time to prepare something or have things you can grab. I make omelette bites, or eggs and reheat at work. I sometimes pack plain Greek yogurt and top with frozen blueberries, walnuts, sugar free vanilla syrup and seeds of some kind. It’s all melted together and still cold once I am at work. Oatmeal is another great choice that is quick and affordable. This is a huge money saver!
  3. Water Bottle-This doesn’t need an explanation really but here goes. Buying a large jug of water to refill your bottle saves BIG money. If you have a filter pitcher or some clean water coming from the tap it’s even better. Grabbing any beverage from refrigerator at gas station or grocery store will blow your budget if you are pinching pennies like me! Hate water? Add some flavor with lemons, limes or cucumbers. Hate that too? Grab some packets of flavor to add, True Lemon is a healthy choice.

Author: nichole_blog

Product photographer and lifestyle blogger

Leave a comment